Andalusia (/ˌændəˈlsiəˌ -ziəˌ -ʒə/; Spanish: Andalucía [andaluˈθi.a, -si.a]) is a south-western European region established as an autonomous community of the Kingdom of Spain. It is the most populated and the second largest in area of the autonomous communities in Spain. The Andalusian autonomous community is officially recognised as a nationality of Spain. The territory is divided into eight provinces: Almería, Cádiz, Córdoba, Granada, Huelva, Jaén, Málaga and Seville. Its capital is the city of Seville (Spanish: Sevilla).

Andalusia is in the south of the Iberian peninsula, immediately south of the autonomous communities of Extremadura and Castile–La Mancha; west of the autonomous community of Murcia and the Mediterranean Sea; east of Portugal and the Atlantic Ocean; and north of the Mediterranean Sea and the Strait of Gibraltar. Andalusia is the only European region with both Mediterranean and Atlantic coastlines. The small British overseas territory of Gibraltar shares a three-quarter-mile land border with the Andalusian province of Cádiz at the eastern end of the Strait of Gibraltar.

Latest News for: Andalucia



MENA FN 17 Feb 2024
(MENAFN - Dubai PR Network) UAE Team Emirates took two podiums in two races today with Juan Ayuso taking 2nd on the 4.5km TT at the Vuelta Andalucia while Rui Oliveira sprinting to a close 2nd place ... ....

Cartagena could send water to Andalucia by boat if drought worsens

Spanish News Today 07 Feb 2024
Surplus water from Murcia could be used to alleviate the drought situation in other parts of southern Spain ...   ...   ...   ... Right now, though, it is barely producing more than 2 cubic hectometres due to the restrictions on irrigation that the CHS maintains for the irrigators who buy the water.   ... ....

Andalucia man jailed after his dog died of heatstroke locked in a car

Spanish News Today 05 Feb 2024
The animal was left suffocating on a day when the thermometers in Jaén reached 42ºC. A 64-year-old man from the Jaén town of Cazorla has been sentenced to 6 months behind bars for leaving his dog locked in a car all day last July as the temperatures climbed into the 40s. The 25kg animal eventually succumbed to heatstroke and died ... ....

Andalucia passes law to limit holiday rentals

Spanish News Today 02 Feb 2024
From February, town councils throughout Andalucía will be allowed to set a cap on the number of holiday apartments ...  . From February 22, local governments will be able to decide how many holiday lets are allowed in a particular building, neighbourhood or zone “for reasons of general interest”.   ...   ...   ...   ... Image....